Tuition fees

Tuititon fee regulations for


  • For Austrian students and students who have the same status as Austrians (i.e. nationals of all EU and EEA member countries) and who have not exceeded the minimum duration of their study programme plus two semesters, no fee is payable. After the two semesters of tolerance, you have to pay 363.36 euros each semester.

  • For all other students from third countries (who are in possession of a Residence Permit-Student) 726.72 euros per semester is required.

  • All other degree programme students from third countries (especially those who have a residence title other than a "Residence Permit-Student" ("Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" or belong to a specific group of persons): 363.36 euros per semester (after the tuition fee-free period).

  • The student union membership fee "ÖH-Beitrag" and the student accident insurance fee is 19.20 euros per semester and is compulsory for all students.

An exemption from paying tuition fees is possible in special cases (e.g. for participants in exchange programmes and university partnerships, students from the least developed countries). Students from other developing countries and Central and Eastern European reform countries may be exempted or apply for a full or partial refund of the tuition fees according to the universities’ own rules. Further information is available at the website of the university directly.

University of Applied Sciences

The Universities of Applied Sciences are entitled to charge tuition fees. For more details, please contact the institution of your choice directly.

Private Universites and University Colleges of Teacher Education

Tuition fees differ from one institution to the next. Please contact the institution directly.

+43 1 534 08-500

Ebendorferstraße 7
1010 Wien


Information leaflets in other languages