University Colleges of Teacher Education

The Austrian University Colleges of Teacher Education offer a three-year (six semester) Bachelor of Education (BEd) degree in combination with a teaching qualification for primary, secondary or special needs schools. Some also offer BEd degrees for polytechnic schools and for teaching religious education. The University College of Agrarian and Environmental Pedagogy offers a Bachelor of Education in combination with a qualification for teaching in schools of agriculture.

Graduates of higher secondary education are accepted at the University Colleges after going through a screening procedure and after successfully completing a four-week information period. The study programme is comprised of courses in educational science, subject studies relevant for the respective teaching qualification and practical school experience.

There are nine state-run University Colleges, e.g. in Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Tyrol, Styria, Vorarlberg, Carinthia, and two in Vienna as well as five private institutions maintained by the dioceses of Graz, Innsbruck, Linz and Vienna and by a foundation in Burgenland.